Prize Winners

Since 2016, at the discretion of the Examination Committee, the Association has awarded a prize to an outstanding candidate in the previous twelve months' Associateship examination (Modules A1, A2 and A3). Prior to 2020, the award took the form of attendance at IMCC (International Marine Claims Conference) but following that conference ceasing to exist, the nature of the award will be decided by the Examination Committee each year.

Winners of the award are:

  • 2024 - not awarded
  • 2023 - Thaminah Jackson, RHL, London
  • 2022 - Jenny Chu Wing Yin, Asia Maritime Pacific, Hong Kong
  • 2021 - not awarded
  • 2020 - Giorgio Cavallo, RHL, London
  • 2019 - not awarded
  • 2018 - Nicole Leung, Gard, Hong Kong
  • 2017 - Daniel Shurville, Zodiac Maritime, London
  • 2016 - Joseph Tang, Asia Maritime Adjusting Pte Ltd, Singapore


IMCC was definitely one of the most inspiring conferences I have ever attended. It does not just provides industrial updates and trends, but also offers a variety of maritime topics from both commercial and technical aspects, which has enabled me to better comprehend the importance of role that different marine counterparts have been playing as well as the challenges and struggles they would encounter as the industry evolves. Networking was another highlight, where I was given a precious opportunity to share experiences and discuss thoughts - however prime or trivial - with people having diverse background and expertise from all over the world. By and large, IMCC provokes thinking through dialogues, connects one another in the global industry, passes on the passion and vision we share to the young generation and visually realises “the whole is more than sum of its parts”.
Nicole Leung (2018)

"I thoroughly enjoyed the opportunity to attend the IMCC in Dublin this year. The quality and spectrum of topics presented by such noted speakers made for an enlightening and interesting conference. It is clear to see why IMCC has run successfully since 2004 and continues to grow in popularity each year."
Daniel Shurville (2017)